Search      Members      Groups      Profile      Favorites      RSS      Register      Log in
Heavy Metal - Chapter 24: Divine Intervention

(currently a favorite of 0 users)
   Storygames Home -> Skiffiville - Science Fiction and Experimental SGs -> Heavy Metal
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Author Chapter
Thunderbird
Elder

Topics: 104

Items
Legends
37957 Fables
Strata-gems

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:23 pm    Post subject: Heavy Metal - Chapter 24: Divine Intervention Reply with quote

Heavy Metal
Chapter 24
Divine Intervention

“I know I’m a structural engineer,” a lone man at a bar quipped frustratedly into his earpiece.

No other patrons graced the establishment as the mid-day sun rose high in the California sky outside. Its golden beams shot through tinted windows, revealing glittering dust motes caught in perpetual hover over dilapidated billiards tables.

The low surging hum of a vacuum cleaner played in the background of the man’s thoughts letting him know where to find Roxy, the bartender, if he needed her services further. He had been nursing the same beer for over an hour now, however, immersed more in his thoughts and cell-connected conversations than his drink. As a result, the young single mother had returned to her mid-day upkeep tasks, leaving him to argue in peace.

“Look, Paul… Just because I can work out these designs doesn’t mean I should throw away a stable position at Solatech. I KNOW you have connections in the military that are looking for these kinds of structures! That’s not what worries me! Do you have any idea what the NASA budget has shrunk to these days? For God’s sake, Paul, I’m engaged! Melody is not exactly the greatest fan of risk you know? And neither am I really.”

Roxy paused, stood, wiped her brow as she rested her spine. She glanced over at the man at the counter, shook her head and hunched back into her vacuuming.