Search      Members      Groups      Profile      Favorites      RSS      Register      Log in
Question About Alignment/Text Formatting

(currently a favorite of 0 users)
   Storygames Home -> Info Street - FAQs and Guides to the City -> IF Technical Institute and FAQ
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Lilith
Honored Citizen

Topics: 82

Items
Legends
Fables
Strata-gems

PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 1:06 pm    Post subject: Question About Alignment/Text Formatting Reply with quote

Been here five and a half years, and I've yet to figure out a way to make text centered/right aligned/left aligned/justified on IF.

I've tried both [align=center,right,left,ect][/align] & [center][/center],ect.

Am I crazy or is this option just not open to us? Anybody got a clue? And please don't tell me to use dothtml or html coding, as I'm not an expert on that, I just know how to make buttons work.

It would be really nice to be able to justify my SG text, center my signature, other images I use in posts, ect. It just makes everything more streamlined and eye-appealing in my experience.

© 2007-2019 Lilith
Crunchyfrog
Honorable IFian

Topics: 168

Items
Legends
Fables
Strata-gems

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately the BBCode available to us doesn't include aligning text. I don't know whether there's a reason for this, or whether it is possible to make that code available.

There's more about BBCode Here

You can, however, do left, right and center of text by using html tables.

This is text aligned
in the centre.

This is a block of text aligned to the left.

If the width of the table is not set, the text dictates the width of the table, and it will automatically fit window size (at least it does on my browser)

This is a block of text aligned to the right.

How to get that is below:

Code:

<table>

<tr><td align="center">

[i][b]This is text aligned
in the centre.[/b][/i]

</td></tr>

<tr><td align="left">