Storygames Home City of IF
Free online storygaming

The First chapter competition!!!
Click here to go to the original topic

Storygames Home -> The Vault
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Vishal Muralidharan

Posted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:09 am    Post subject: The First chapter competition!!!  

Alright, now I am ready to hold my first competition! You probably know that I have never done this before, so I hope this turns out to be a good one!

Well, what you will have to do is to choose on of the paragraphs below, and write a 'first chapter' based on it. Your chapter will have to have a minimum of 1000 words. What you write in the chapter is entirely up to you, except that it should contain the following paragraphs. Your entries can be posted in this thread!

Things you need to do.

1] Choose one of the following paragraphs.

2] Write a chapter of at least 1000 words.

3] Finish your chapter at a decision point, and tell us what the DP is.

4] Give your chapter a title.

5]Post your chapter in this thread.

Thats all!!!

And now, on with the paragraphs!

Para 1....

Matt had always hated his life. There were so many reasons, but the main reason was he felt that his home had lost the love it once had. His parents constantly fought, but they wouldn't tell him why. "Adult stuff" they would say. Not suitable for 9 year olds. This, added to the fact that his family was very poor, was what made him run away from home, to the Chennai Central Railway Station, where he started polishing shoes to earn money.

Para 2...

"Tea, Cheap and warm, Filtered tea...." yells Zack as he totters along the streets of his neighborhood, carrying a large container strapped to his back, and plastic cups in his hand. The morning sun shines brightly, lighting up the poorly maintained street and huts on the road side. Zack stands and stares as he watches young girls and boys hurriedly climbing into the school bus, dreaming of the place called 'school'.