The Archer's Flight (Back to Books of the Wheel)
"To reach him she crossed half the Wheel—walking, slithering on her belly as a snake, taking to wing in dragon-form..." more
Buy from
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from
Order from your local bookstore using ISBN #0-9765477-0-8

Softcover: 77 pages
Author: Mark Keavney
Publisher: City of IF
ISBN: 0-9765477-0-8
Dimensions: 6.0 x 9.0 x 0.2 inches

Long ago, the Makers nailed the World Serpent to a great disc, creating the Wheel.
Ever since, the people of the Wheel have prayed for the Makers to return.
Now their prayers are answered. But not in the way they expect…

The centaurs of Deica's village didn't know what to make of the strange infant born with two legs and no tail. She grew up an outcast; the only bright spot in her life her extraordinary gift with the bow. But when a Serpent attacks her village, Deica flees, beginning a dangerous journey to the center of the Wheel, a journey that will bring her face to face with who she really is and what it means to be "human."

The Archer's Flight is the first book in the Wheel series. It was originally told as an interactive storygame on the City of IF web site.

Inside This Book

First Sentence: To reach him she crossed half the Wheel—walking, slithering on her belly as a snake, taking to wing in dragon-form when she dared...Read the first page

Browse Sample Pages:
Front Cover | Introduction | Prologue | Chapter One


Here's what others are saying about "The Archer's Flight" (selected reviews taken from

"A rich and engaging story that is a pleasure to be immersed in."

"An extraordinary book, a fast paced, thrilling, fantasy novel."

"Never a dull moment. The characters are all well thought out."

"An imaginatively envisaged and richly detailed world awaits inside the pages of The Archer's Flight...Definitely recommended for fans of epic fantasies, this story promises to remain one of the more intelligent and unexpected tales of the genre."

"A thrilling adventure from beginning to end...A fantastic journey that satisfies the reader while simultaneously imparting a desire for more."
Read complete reviews on

More About the Wheel

The Wheel is a set of related storygames set in a fantasy world. In addition to The Archer's Flight, it includes The Lion's Word, another published novella, and the following web storygames:

  • The Twin Prince - a rich prince discovers the lies and secrets of his father
  • The Machine's Daughter - a young girl is forced to find her identity in world of machines
  • The White Queen - the queen of a dying people defends her last sacred spot
  • The Ram - a slave overthrows his masters and teaches his people to fight
  • The Fish that Walked - a prince dreams his life away, until his island home is invaded

You can also view two Flash movies about the Wheel (click here to get Macromedia Flash) or read the world background:

Home   Book   Storygames   FAQ   Greek myth   About   Policies   Sitemap   Free online rpg games
All site content © 2005 City of IF or the respective storygame authors.      Terms of use